National Flag


The designer of the Indian Flag is Sri Pingali Venkayya.


The National Flag of India is a tri color flag. The colors Saffron, White and Green traverse equally across the flag. A dark blue, wheel of Ashoka the Great is adopted in the middle of white color. This wheel has 24 spokes in it. The wheel of Ashoka is a replica of the wheel at the Saranath memorial. The length and width of the flag are in 3 to 2 ratio.

Indian Democratic coalition approved the national Flag on July 22, 1947. The flag of the National Congress Party was the basis for the design of the Indian Flag. The Saffron Color is symbolic for sacrifice, White for Purity and Truth, Green for Prosperity and the wheel is for growth.

Rules of the Flag:
  • Let us learn the important rules of our respected flag.
  • All that attend flag hosting, must stand facing the flag and salute with attention.
  • During display with other flags, our national flag should be on the far right.
  • The flag should be at half-staff during national mourning.
  • The flag should be hosted in a clear and visible display. It should be respected by all at all times.
  • With exception of special occasions, flag should be hosted from dawn to dusk.
  • During special occasions, the flag must be hoisted  up quickly and down slowly.
  • The flag should not be hoisted during cyclones, hurricanes and fast winds.
  • During processions, the flag should be upfront and on the far right.
  • The ration of length and width of flag must always be at 3 to 2
  • The flag is allowed to be made in 7 measurements. The largest size is 6300 x 4200mm and the smallest 225 x 150mm

Back page


Copyright reserved @   | Disclaimer | Credits  |  Site powered by Agna Technologies